Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Database Usernames and Passwords
Some of the articles below come from one of the databases that our school subscribes to. Because you will be off campus when you are looking at the articles, you may be required to enter a username or password. Just click on the link and enter your WT email address to log in.
"CHILD LABOR: The Teens Who Feed America."
This Scholastic article gives more information about ways that child labor plays a role in farming in the United States. You can read the text or click on PDF Full Text to see an image of the article in Scholastic. You may need to enter the Ebscohost username and password. (The link to the database passwords is at the top of this page, just like when you used the databases for your world religion research project).
Disability Rights Advocacy and Representation
"A Lost Decade for Climate Action: We Can't Afford a Repeat..."
This article includes information about teens who are involved in climate change activism as well as some up to date facts and statistics about climate change. You may need to enter the Proquest username and password. (The link to the database passwords is at the top of this page, just like when you used the databases for your world religion research project).
"Attend Class, March for Science, Lobby Congress: A Week in the Life of this Fifth Grader"
An article and video about Haven Coleman and her efforts to teach her representative to Congress about the importance of saving the environment.
"Fighting Climate Change Is 'About My Home' For Indigenous Teen Activist Helena Gualinga"
This link includes a news segment originally aired on the radio through WBUR in Boston. You can listen to it and follow along with the transcript below to learn about a teen who is fighting climate change and corporations who are taking advantage of indigenous people in Central and South America.
"Fighting for Their Future"
This article in the most recent issue of National Geographic profiles several teenage climate activists. There are a few steps you will need to take to access the article. You will need to scroll to the bottom of the page and click on the link to access Flipster. You may need to use the Ebscohost database username and password. (The link to the database passwords is in the middle of the main Finkel Library page, just like when you used the databases for your world religion research project). Once you are in Flipster, choose National Geographic and flip to page 70/71 of the March 2020 issue to start reading.
"Kids Leading the Charge to Green"
This text is about the inspiring crowd of young people at a recent green summit, proving that youth activists are at the forefront of the environmental movement.
"Oregon Teens Sue State: Can Local Governments Be Held Accountable..."
Read this article to learn more about teens in Oregon who are using the legal system to encourage the government to take action to protect the environment. You may need to enter the Proquest username and password. (The link to the database passwords is at the top of this page, just like when you used the databases for your world religion research project).
"Profile: Greta Thunberg takes on climate change and the world follows"
In this article, CBC Kids profiles teenage climate activist Great Thunberg.
"This Teen isn't Waiting for Adults to Solve The Climate Crisis"
This article shares information about Pavan Gowda, a teenage climate change activist. It includes a short video.
"She Helped Save Her Town. Then She Finished High School."
This article explains some of the steps a college freshman has taken to improve the environment in her hometown.
“Clay McMullen, Teen Passionate about Saving the Environment: Community Heroes 2011.”
An article and video about a teen in Ohio who has worked to educate others and improve the conditions of the wetlands in his area. (The video is Clay speaking directly.
"Climate Change and the Oceans"
This webpage gives information about ways in which the oceans and life on land are interconnected.
"ClimaTeens: Teens Combating Climate Change"
This blogpost explains the work of a group of teens in the Boston area who are part of a group who earned a grant for their climate change work.
"The Sunrise Movement Comes to Nashville"
This article gives information about a group of young activists who working to raise awareness and to push for change in the Nashville area.
Representation and Inclusion