Image accessed from The New York Times
Primary Sources: Variety of Countries
American Empire: covers the colonial settlements of Hawaii, Puerto Rico, and the Philippines
Bandung Conference - University of Luxembourg: This collection includes documents regarding one of the first large-scale conferences of Afro-Asian countries, most of which were newly liberated.
British Empire & Commonwealth Collection: Explore archives and objects from people who lived and worked in the British Empire and Commonwealth
Carpenter Collection: The more than 15,000 images in the Frank and Frances Carpenter Collection represent the extensive photographic files assembled by Frank G. Carpenter and his daughter Frances to illustrate his popular writings on travel and geography.
Granger Historical Picture Archive: A source for images from prehistoric times through the recent past. Granger's holdings have grown to encompass millions of engravings, photographs, lithographs, and many other forms of illustration. The Granger offers a wonderful collection of images related to imperialism. Browse by country/region for images related to that area.
International Dimensions of Decolonization in the Middle East and North Africa: Includes an essay overview with supporting primary sources
International Mission Photography Archive (IMPA): Historical images from Protestant and Catholic missionary collections in Britain, Norway, Germany, France, Switzerland, and the United States.
Internet Modern History Sourcebook: From Fordham University. Specifically, check out the sections on Decolonization, Asia since 1900, Africa since 1945, Middle East since 1914, and 20C Latin America
The Middle East in Early Prints and Photographs: The collection include classics of illustrated travel and regional archaeology, as well as the NYPL's earliest works of photography in the Middle East region.
National Archives Catalog: Records of enduring value that were created or received by organizations of the executive, legislative, and judicial branches of the Federal Government.
The Rise of the British Empire: North America, Africa, India, and Australia
Widener Library Images of Colonialism Collection: These late-19th- and early-20th-century trade cards and illustrations offer insight into European perspectives on the colonial experience.
Wilson Center Digital Archive: The Digital Archive contains declassified historical materials from archives around the world, much of it in English translation. The historical documents presented in the ever-expanding Digital Archive provide unique insights into recent international history, and serve to deepen and enrich international scholarship, history education, and public policy debate on important global issues and challenges.
Africana Historic Postcard Collection
Historical photographic postcards documenting an important visual record of Africa and its people during the historically intensive years of European colonialism, from 1895 to 1960.
AGSL Digital Photo Archive: Africa
A selection of images from the American Geographical Society (AGS) Library.
Colonialism and African Diaspora on Picture Postcards
Postcards showing Africans and African-Americans in the period of colonialism.
Eliot Elisofon Photographic Archives, National Museum of African Art
Frobenius Institute Image Database
Images produced between 1830 and the 1960s, during expeditions organized by the Frobenius Institute in the first half of the 20th century to Africa, but also to Australia, Indonesia and South America.
G.I. Jones Photographic Archive - Southeastern Nigerian Art & Culture
A selection of photographs taken in the 1930s.
"How Has the Camera Been a Tool for Colonialism?" (Article with photos)
The Humphrey Winterton Collection of East African Photographs: 1860-1960
The photographs depict life, primarily in East Africa, between about 1860 and 1960.
Images of Colonialism
Images from late-19th and early-20th century trade cards and illustrated European newspapers of East Asia, South Asia, and Africa.
Internet African History Sourcebook: From Fordham University.
"Lessons from the Egba Women’s Anti-Colonial Movement" (Article with images)
Liberian Photograph Collections
Photographers include Liberian and American government officials and employees, private citizens, missionaries, development workers, concessions employees and ethnographic researchers.
Photography as a Tool of Power and Subjugation: How the Camera was Used to Justify Black Racial Inferiority
Posters from the Herskovits Library
The subjects covered here include politics, health, religion, liberation struggles, art exhibitions, and social issues.
Ross Archive of African Images
Presenting approximately 5000 pictures of African art published before 1921. Its historic sources afford exceptional insight into early European and American views - literal and figurative - of Africa's art. Texts are presented here verbatim in the original - often erroneous and sometimes racist - language. Foreign texts appear in English translation followed by the original language.
Vernon McKay Photographs
These images of African daily life date from the mid-20th century.
World Through a Lens: Africa
National Archives (UK) collection of over 3000 images taken from the Foreign and Commonwealth Office photographic collection.
Primary Sources: Asia
AGSL Digital Photo Archive: Asia and the Middle East: A selection of images from the American Geographical Society (AGS) Library.
Colonialism in Asia: a Critical Look (scanned from the book by Susan Gage)
Cornell University Collection 39: Late Choson Dynasty Photograph-Postcards (Korea).
East Asian Collection: Includes historical images that present a visual archive of 20th century East Asian cultural heritage.
East Asia Image Collection: Digitized photographs, negatives, postcards, and slides of colonial Taiwan (1900-45) and occupied Japan (1947-52).
East Asia History Sourcebook: From Fordham University
East Asia Sourcebook: The Western Intrusion
East Asia Sourcebook: Other East Asian Countries: Includes resources related to the Non Aligned Movement and Vietnam War
Global Database of Old Japanese Photographs: Filter your search by photographer, subject, region, and more.
Ito Chuta Postcards: Architectural Institute of Japan Museum of Architecture: Picture postcards drawn by Ito from 1920 to 1950 that caricature events related to domestic and international situations, society, and customs.
Lafayette College East Asia Image Collection: Documents the history of imperial Japan (1868-1945), its Asian empire (1895-1945) and occupied Japan (1947-52).
The Leonard A. Lauder Collection: Collection of Japanese postcards that represent an astonishing array of subjects and styles between 1900-1940.
Old Tokyo: Vintage Japanese Postcard Museum, 1900-1960: Browse by topic or a detailed list of tags.
Old Photos of Japan: Images that provide historical and social context for everyday life in Japan between 1850-1960.
"Racism and stereotypes in colonial India’s 'Instagram’": (Article with photos)
Re-envisioning Japan: Digital collection of images and artifacts from early-to-mid 20th century Japan (has lots of great topics, such as)
Primary Sources: Central and South America
AGSL Digital Photo Archive: South America: A large collection of photographs that you can filter by specific location or time period you are interested in.
American Imperialism and the Spanish Civil War: A Source Set from the Digital Public Library of America
Colonialism in the Americas (scanned from the book by Susan Gage)
Resistance Art and Photography
